Peerless Trout First Nation

The Peerless Trout First Nation was officially constituted on May 19, 2010 and approved by Alberta and Canada by December 13, 2010. The First Nation is located 68 kilometers Northeast of Red Earth, Alberta.

Through the Land Claim settlement of 2010, approximately 63,000 acres are to be designated as reserve land for the Peerless Trout First Nation.  As of 2013 there are currently 882 members registered within the First Nation with the majority of members residing within the two communities of Peerless and Trout Lake.

The band administration office is located in the community of Peerless Lake.

The First Nation is governed by an elected Chief and Council.

Chief James Alook who is serving his second term as the Chief of PTFN, at the time of the signing of the Settlement Agreement;  was quoted as saying:

“This is our chance …you know. We have one shot at it, and I’m sure we’re gonna do it right.”

That continues to be the view as evidenced by workshop participants repeating the phrase “get’er done” throughout the two days of Strategic Planning.